MS Library – Big 6

Big 6 Information Literacy Process

The Big6 is a process model of how people of all ages solve an information problem. From practice and study, we found that successful information problem-solving encompasses six stages with two sub-stages under each:

1. Task Definition
1.1 Define the information problem

1.2 Identify information needed

2. Information Seeking Strategies
2.1 Determine all possible sources

2.2 Select the best sources

3. Location and Access
3.1 Locate sources (intellectually and physically)

3.2 Find information within sources

4. Use of Information
4.1 Engage (e.g., read, hear, view, touch)

4.2 Extract relevant information

5. Synthesis
5.1 Organize from multiple sources

5.2 Present the information

6. Evaluation
6.1 Judge the product (effectiveness)

6.2 Judge the process (efficiency)

“The copyright license 2018; original license for the Big6 is copyright © 1987 Michael B. Eisenberg and Robert E. Berkowitz. For more on the Big6, visit: