Information Literacy Standards

What is Information Literacy?

Information Literacy is defined as the ability to access, evaluate and use information from multiple formats–such as books, multimedia, subscription databases, e-books, and internet websites.

The Standards for the 21st-Century Learner* are:

Standard 1:
Inquire, think critically, and gain knowledge.

Standard 2:
Draw conclusions, make informed decisions, apply knowledge to new situations, and create new knowledge.

Standard 3:
Share knowledge and participate ethically and productively as members of our democratic society.

Standard 4:
Pursue personal and aesthetic growth.

*Source: Standards for the 21st-Century Learner in Action. Chicago: American Library Association, 2009.